Helpless sentiments – 26/04/2016

My dearest,

How I miss you, how I long for you, how I love you, I wonder if you’ve realised it all. For I am a man so unsofisticated and earnest, surely it’s no challenge for you, oh my Athena, to see through my heart. With that assumed, no, assured, my heart and mind, my baneful pride and shameful insecurities are now at your dainty feet, at your own great mercy.

Please, make me wait no longer, for the most painful thing in love is neither being rejected nor having my feelings unknown, but my burning thoughts and rapid heartbeats being ignored by the one I love most. Yes, now it’s as clear as the full moon tonight to you: I love you, I love you now, like I’ve always loved you since the first day we met. Would you be so cruel as to leave this poor man, devoid of tact and stripped off his ego, hanging, dancing in your pearly white palm without an answer?

Oh, I see that in this duel with Cupidon I am a loser, the happiest and most desperate loser there is. I yearn for your most fleeting glance, your ever casual greetings that seem so cold to me and so passionate to everyone else. What am I to you, my lady? Where am I in that formidable fortress you call your heart, which you guard so heavily against everything and everybody? I came before you with a sincere promise of giving you happiness, have you heard so many of it that you simply reject my love, thinking it would only be a sweet lie?

Be brave, my dearest, and nod at me, for you may not be my first, but I will make you my last. Or be cautious with all the rights bestowed upon you, and say no, for I will only love you a hundred times more, and give you all I have from now until my last day on earth, until you believe that there exists a man who loves only you, and lives only for you. But please, have mercy, my love, and bypass my heart no longer.

 

Endnote: My first comeback after a very long time, and yet look how cliche it is…

One thought on “Helpless sentiments – 26/04/2016

Leave a Reply

